Worst Thing to do: Filter your Playlist


I read a couple of post out of which this is in response to two posts:
Songs that saved my life pt 1 and Why We Weed: Book Deselection in Academic Libraries

image

I do not have a background story as to why I like some songs. Nor do I have a any experience as to how a library functions.
But what I do have is a song library in my phone, which about an hour ago was of 631 songs.
Music for me is important and essential. I travel everyday for at least 3-4 hours. Without music in that time the journey would be boring.
Don’t get me wrong, I like greats like John Lennon and Bob Dylan, but those songs are to be listened with care so that every word is understood. Not to be played in the background while I travel and occasionally fall asleep while travelling.
My phone’s music library is always being updated. If I like a new song then I had to save the song in my phone. The source may differ. Sometimes it is after I see its video on TV, sometimes it is after listening to the song on BBC’s Radio one. Or simply because it won a Grammy or is very popular on Twitter.
In a similar manner I started listening to Armin Van Buuren. I immediately loved his album, hardly have listened to trance before. So in a month or so I had about six of his weekly State of Trance radio podcasts.

image

And after that I stop updating my playlist. Now the problem is this:
I had so many trance tracks that I could hardly distinguish one from another. I remember some of them, but not all. Especially since every song had the same album art. Impossible at the end.
So now came the hard part: I had to remove songs from my playlist to create space for new songs.
Because my playlist had lost its diversity. Every third song was trance. Trance after trance made my playlist monotonous.
I enjoy trance. Every beat is fun and this genre is especially best while doing math.
Playlist can continue in the background.
Here comes the relation to the above mentioned posts. I had to deselect some songs, so I could enjoy my playlist again. And I am sure that I liked each song.
Immediately I knew that a couple of songs like Stairway to Heaven, Comfortably Numb or the classics are not going to be deleted. Any playlist is not complete without them. Also when I started checking my playlist I realized that at a time or two I had enjoyed each of these songs.
I every time sing Bryan Adams, every time dance to Tiesto. Rob Thomas, Tracy Chapman, the Killers, Daft Punk, Pearl Jam, Kings of Leon, Coldplay and so on are definitely not going to be removed. Every one of the above artists I listen to is amazing. I remember the lyrics, hum the tune or sing the song.
The Killers I loved because every song seemed same yet so different. Read my Mind, When You Were Young and Here with Me being my favourites.
Bryan Adams with his acoustic Heaven is probably my favourite song in that genre.
Kings of Leon with Sex on Fire, Use somebody and Wait for Me.
And I won’t forget, Pearl Jam. My favourite rock band. Betterman, Black, Rearviewmirror, State of Love and trust my favourites.
I could not stop with songs on my phone. James Morrison, Taylor Swift, Jason Mraz. I am sure you get the point.
That only left my latest obsession of AVB to be deleted. It was simple, delete those songs which I don’t remember.
I started and when I was done I had deleted about 100 songs. 100!
Now I have songs from each genre, and I am not sure whether I did the right thing by deleting 100 trance tracks. But what I do know is this: I abhor deleting songs. No matter how much space I have in my phone or PC, it is simply never enough.
Same thing goes with deleting movies and I am not a huge cloud user or follower to save stuff on the cloud. It is either keep or delete for me.
What I would like at the end, if possible, is any suggestions on any good songs.
Any song: I listen to all genres. Rock, pop, rap, dance, anything.

Leave a Reply

