Tranquility


Today was pretty much normal. Aside from the fact that we had to present our engineering projects to the professors, yeah it was normal.

The project was approved, officially. And then we went to lunch. And lunch isn’t the commonplace restaurant like McDonald or KFC. We went to a shabby dhabba kind of place.

For its Misal Pav.

image

Misal Pav

I used to eat there when I used to practice my street play in college. I knew, a few of my friends knew it. All heard about it from me, of course. The food there was long overdue. I loved eating there, so did a few.

It was kind of fun to enter a small stall and ask seats for ten people. They had to array their customers around to make space for all of us.

We ate.

We laughed.

One got scared of a small cute black kitten.

We laughed again.

And again.

It is a memorable day in itself for me. Possibly the best I have had in a week or so. No worries, just favourite food and congenial company.

But the day got better for me after it.

I am not a atheist. I am not a believer either. I don’t know what I believe in, but it may have its roots in fatalism.

Temples are not for me. All the carillon ringing is never amiable. But I always adored Sikh temples or Gurudwalas.

Ever been to one? No? Then I highly recommend you to go there. It is like unparalleled.

image

Sikh Temple

Doesn’t matter when I go, with whom I go, it is the place that imbues peace to me. The Tranquility there is always surreal.

I could never shut my mind. There is always something that my brain keeps processing (Engineers will laugh at this!) A moment of quiet for me? Absurd.

Today I got it. The ten minutes there, I just looked. My mind didn’t even dare whisper a thought. For once, I was at the place where I stood. My mind didn’t take a trip down the memory lane.

And I relish those ten minutes profoundly.

I could hear my own heartbeat. Listen to the ceiling fan spin, cutting the air.

Whenever I visit Sikh temples, I never know what to do. But my subconscious does. Most of the time it is like I have lost control of my limbs, and my subconscious drives me. The number of times I prostrate myself, how much time should I bow my head. It is never a decision, it is autonomous.

So definitely I enjoyed the lunch. But the temple’s quietude I will not let go.

As I write this post, there is a peace in me that I never feel, and now I am basked in it

Thanks For Reading
Itsmayurremember

4 thoughts on “Tranquility

  1. Gurudwar’s are one of the best places to visit…if you are looking for some peace…after all you few minutes of peace…visit that place everyday so that we can get some more posts from you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

