#28 Breath Fire (Part 8)


Continued, check part 7

Fiction:

‘What now Reaves?’

‘You tell me. I have an army sitting on my arose ready to go for my throat. And my hundred warriors are ready to kill your would be wife if they get the chance. This has to be resolved as quickly as possible. Otherwise we are dead.’

This was the real Reaves. Humble and straight. Not a prince or a King.

‘I never thought this…’

‘I know Garge. There is more than one court member who would ask for your head after this. But I have your back. I just need to know whether you are ready for the onslaught or not.’

‘I want the father’s head. That bastard comes to my land to kill my people. I would skin him and burn him. He is a monster. And he wants to kill my… Child too!’

Sudden fury blazed in his eyes. He wanted to turn now and smoke everything around him. But he knew better than that. He got his anger under control and awaited the turn to kill.

‘No one knows what happened at the island. But now if you approach to talk, then the entire army will know. The army would prefer going back to their lives. They want an end to this pointless regime. My father would not allow that.’ Tamara said.

‘Champion!’ Both Reaves and Garge said together.

That meant Garge doing what he does best. Swinging his sword.

Reaves spoke a bit more while Tamara came near to Garge. Eventually they were left alone.

‘Reaves has a temper. And you insulted him in his court by instating your law and..’

‘I know. I forgot my place. I’m a prisoner here. It is a mercy that I’m still alive, for which I should be grateful to your King.’ She stopped and added ‘and to you.’

Garge looked in askance at her. She continued

‘My father had dispatched those wolves. Before you I hated my life. I ran and he sent wolves after me. You gave me a reason to live. After he coerced out of me your existence, I found out I was pregnant. Another reason to live. As soon as we landed I escaped and arrived here.’

‘I had to attack those ships. Otherwise we would be facing a siege now instead of a reeling army. If I had hurt you in those ships then..’ He couldn’t say more.

He knew after they survived he would gladly marry her. Not because it was a law for her, but because he could feel a stirring for her. And he wanted to survive the war.

For one fleeting second he thought of taking her and fleeing the land. No one would know or could follow. But he dismissed it. He had to save his kin.

‘So who is your father’s champion?’

‘He fights himself.’

Next morning a messenger was dispatched with a white flag. To have a champion fight instead of the armies. The enemy agreed on the condition that after dragons lose, all dragons would have to come to their own deaths.

Other than Reaves and Garge no one knew those terms.

A party of twenty arrived midway from enemy. Ten dragons including Reaves and Garge reached midway too.

Garge had spent the night with Tamara. And now he intended to make sure he gets to do it again. Enemy’s champion was not hard to find. He stood 7 feet tall and strong enough to kill men with his bare hands. And the sword he carried was another broadsword on his back, at least four feet in length.

‘We have Tamara and if we are cheated then she won’t make past the hour.’ King Reaves declared. This was the King alright. The same arrogant, conceited king.

‘Huh’ the tall men spoke. ‘If you know my daughter then you know I would not mind her death. By my hands or yours. Its you dragons who I want dead.’

Tamara’s father got down from his horse and came forward. He stood two feet in front of Garge and spoke again ‘You who laid with my daughter, by the hour is done I will taste your blood. Then your entire race would be plunged off.’

He snorted loudly. And there was smoke in his breath. His eyes changed color and his skin briefly changed to purple.

Garge gasped. This cannot be! His opponent, King of human armies ready to kill all dragons was…

A DRAGON!

Thanks For Reading
Itsmayurremember

2 thoughts on “#28 Breath Fire (Part 8)

Leave a Reply

