Feed The Sparrows


Having nothing to do is dangerous. The task less indolent mind wanders onto places and ideas that you would’ve never reached. And it’s also possible that during such a time nothing can be achieved or a lot can be found. Such is my case.
Every night I made a plan, and every night the plan differed. And with a person like me, one who has a very very vivid imagination the plans stretched far out into the future into success stories.

Dreaming with my eyes open

One such a plan was to join a NGO for animals. I love animals, and they are ones who suffer by our, we human beings, actions. They are the helpless voiceless victims of our ambitions and they deserve something back. Jimmy(my dog) thought me alot of things and it is because of him I know animals know sorrow and happiness. They are more than any other species, they are Life
So I looked for NGO that are nearby and the ones whose interests matches my own. And staying in an almost rural town doesn’t help because many NGO are so far away that it is mostly stupid to go there. Good intent but still stupid. One NGO chairman that I spoke with gave the idea of a sparrow feeder. He had the idea that we can make our own feeders and place them around the area. I have seen the same in a show called Heavy Petting On NDTV Good Times years ago. And I know because it is getting rare to see a sparrow on the balcony or window these days.

Determined to not let anything hinder me I asked the person who I knew feeds birds. The grocery store owner. You know this is true because there’s always pigeons outside his store feeding on some grains. I asked him what do pigeons and sparrows eat. With a lack of of explanation he packed some grains for me and said to place only a small quantity on the window. He is the experienced person here so I took his advice.
What do I need to feed sparrows? Some jowar (sorghum) and bajri (pearl millet).

And a place on window where I can keep the grains, probably an old gardening pot. I did that and the first day no sparrows. No pigeons. Next morning I was greeted with the sweet cooing voice of the sparrows. By mid morning the window had at least three four sparrows perched, each adding their own voices to a song whose meaning was unintelligible to me. But it was melodious.

Never thought that voices like that would be so peaceful to hear

So every day I fed them, everyday their voices brought some life into the house that was mostly empty. And then the pigeons arrived. The birds which are at least twice the size of an average sparrow and when they ate no sparrows could even perch on the same window. To counter this I made two pots, and one of them was hanging from the ceiling. Much to the annoyance of my mom, who didn’t want any birds to damage any of the plants that she had planted, I fed both pigeons and sparrows. The one hanging from the ceiling is for sparrows only and I make sure no pigeon tries to eat from there.

The melody of the birds returned after a day and now it’s part of my morning routine. Get up, drink tea and then serve the grains for the new guests of the house. And it is the simplest thing.

So I urge you, if there’s anything that you can do,and which doesn’t require much of your efforts it is this. Feed the sparrows. It is as simple as watering the plants which is already a part of most people’s morning routine mine included. Buy grains, install a pot and every morning serve grains.



PS:
The sparrows come primarily in the morning and evening around 4-6 pm. Everyday. And they fly from windowsill to pot,ย  loud and full of energy. And for people who care about animals, this might be a simple way to start. No huge efforts, minimal responsibility and heart warming results.

Check out this page: Sparrow Shelter

8 thoughts on “Feed The Sparrows

Leave a Reply

