Why Do Dogs Have To DIe?


There is a bitch that stayed a couple of buildings away from mine. Or there was a bitch.

I never took any pictures of her, but whenever I walked Jimmy near her building she would run out, a huge doggy grin in her face and play with us. She would irritate jimmy by trying to sniff his ears, she would patiently keep her head pressed up against my knee for some petting and scratching. I really enjoyed petting her, her golden fur was one of the most softest fur I have felt, she would have double the energy of Jimmy on any day.

I remember once when I was walking Jimmy she came out of the gate and started pestering Jimmy. And whenever Jimmy tried to sniff her butt she would dash off to her building again, in solitude. That day she dashed off to the top of a nearby parked car. Jimmy tried to follow her but he lacked her height and her agility. So he stayed on his hunches on the road and she up on the roof, both making mopping noises but none moving; because of which I had to stand there holding Jimmy’s leash for about fifteen minutes before he agreed to move.

I hardly saw her recently. I don’t remember when was the last time I scratched behind her ears but whenever I passed her building I tried to catch a glimpse of her. Today I found out that her name was Grubby. WAS. She died seven months ago: run over by a school bus. The school bus being of the same school I passed out from. And I was devastated. She was just another stray dog that the building tenets adopted, no home and leftover food. Jimmy doesn’t remember her, if he would have then he would also wait for her to come out(he used to do that before). But I do. Golden fur, ears straight as an arrow, left ear had a cut and a long equine maw. She would attack Jimmy like a snake and me I would laugh at them for their plays.

My dad would say that it(dad wouldn’t use pronouns) had a fate like that, die by being run over by a car/bus. But she was a good dog. She would listen to her building owners calls, play and never bite. She would be full of energy, always running from one side of the street to the other. Always grinning. Always. And she is now buried in an unmarked grave opposite her building.

Everyone dies, I get it. But why the innocent animals?! They didn’t make the cars neither did they make the road. They are the ones being experimented on, they are the ones who can’t speak yet they know more about emotions than we do. They are simple minded creatures who can only care and for being more humane than we humans can, they get an end like this?!

Damn it! Where’s the Karma now? Someone tell me?

5 thoughts on “Why Do Dogs Have To DIe?

Leave a Reply

