Keep Me As A Friend


Yes have me as a friend. I am interested in you. I want to know about you.

I don’t expect us to be best buddies. I don’t want us to stay up till 4 am and have a profound conversation. But I will be your best friend if you need me to. I’ll stay up all night if you want me to.

I don’t have any illusions. We aren’t perfect. If you have lived this long then you will be hurt, broken and imperfect. I know it. I won’t ask you about it, you tell me when you get want to. You keep your secrets, and share if you want to. I’ll listen.

There won’t be thousands of pictures of us. There will hardly be a few. But there will be memories. There will be giggles and there will be disgust. There will definitely be tears. Because crying comes the easiest. So have whatever you want to, I’ll be there.

Call me if you have a problem. Call me if there’s a difficulty. Call me if you are eating my favorite food. Or just call me if there’s nothing to do. I’ll pick up. And I’ll either help you or just make fun of you.

Tell me about your interests. Tell me your goals and I’ll encourage you. I’ll enjoy your victories and I’ll tell you to cherish your defeats. I’ll share your passions, even if I don’t know anything about them. I’ll tag you in posts that I think will interest you. I’ll tell you about things that interest me, but I won’t coerce you into liking them. I won’t try too hard to be liked, I am just enthusiastic about lot of things. And there are too many things that can interest me.

I will not bore you with my problems. I keep them into myself and this blog. You ask me about them and I won’t lie to you, not because I’m whiny but because I respect you too much to lie. And I’ll get my shit together.

I won’t look at your color. I won’t care about your devotion neither will I be bothered about your caste. I’ll try to be the same for all. I’ll hang out with you unconcerned. I’ll guard my tongue as per your tolerance.

I’ll be a chameleon, I’ll change my behavior as per my group. I’ll be indecent and I’ll be mannered. I am not trying to fit in, I don’t have just one side, I have many. Neither do you. I won’t ask you about them. I will give you your space and expect the same in return.

And with time I’ll leave you alone. I will be attached, I’ll want you in my life but I’ll make sure I don’t need you. If we make a stronger bond then you will despise me. You will want to kill me. And that’s okay, getting close entails hatred. I can’t have things my way all the time.

So this friendship day I’ll say to you, keep me as a friend. I’ll miss out on birthdays but I will be next to you at funerals. Because that’s what friends do. They laugh and cry together.

One of best friendship posts i have read and saved in my phone:

https://endkwote.wordpress.com/2014/08/07/never-always-hardly-truly/

17 thoughts on “Keep Me As A Friend

Leave a Reply

