Guest Blogger #1: Brent Kincaid Interview


After I published my call for guest bloggers, Mr Brent here was the first to respond. Though initially I was hesitant to go ahead with this guest blogging routine because of a lack of response, I am going ahead with this anyway and I will run this series of guest blogging till I run out of bloggers.

Thanks Brent! So here is the small interview on Brent and you should totally check out his poetry blog ‘Poet but know it‘ That has about 868 poems on it!!! It is a fresh take on things. A veteran is here on my blog!


 

1. Who are you?

About seventy years ago I was born in Kansas City, dead center of The Bigotry Belt. After leaving high school I worked, got cast in a couple of plays and sang in two nightclubs. I moved from there in my early twenties to Hollywood on what ‘the right’ likes to call The Left Coast. Yeah! And, damn proud of it!

I stayed there for twenty three years during the gay revolution, including but not limited to defying the police who threatened to arrest all of us, I marched with a thousand other gays down Hollywood Boulevard in 1970 chanting “Out of the closets and into the streets!” and doing the flutter kick with a dozen other young gays. I stayed there, acting in plays, singing in nightclubs and making absolutely zero effect on my career as a famous entertainer.

The rest of my time there, I worked for the telephone company, bought a house and then retired from Ma Bell to Tucson, Arizona, where I met and married the love of my life. We have now been married twenty-four years. 

2. Why do you write?

Twelve years ago we moved to Kauai where I am working as an artist and poet. I am sort of the staff poet on a Facebook magazine called The Blue Route, a progressive newsletter.

3. Lastly any tips for bloggers(myself included) on how to improve writing?

The best advice I can offer to bloggers is two old saws.

First: be brief, be correct and be visible.

Second, avoid, as much as possible unless for comedy relief, using old phrases like “a good time was had by all” and “my jaw dropped to the floor”. That is about the best advice I can give anyone who wants their piece to be read by anyone anywhere.

Remember the words of Oscar Wilde: “If you want to be famous, get your name in print as often as you can. There is no such thing as bad publicity. Any publicity at all is good publicity.” While I don’t agree with that 100%, it is basically good advice.


Like I promised, a short interview!

His Guest Blog post(poetry) will be published on Monday night so do come back here to check it out.

Thank You Brent for the support.

PS: I am still open for more guest bloggers and I encourage more to come. If interested then contact me on: itsmayurremember@gmail.com

7 thoughts on “Guest Blogger #1: Brent Kincaid Interview

Leave a Reply

