110 People Died Yesterday


Just yesterday I read this Police Commander’s article.The Loss of Innocence

I work in an online journalism website. Yes, I am an engineer and currently working as a journalist, go ahead judge. I’m almost immune to people’s judgements. Almost.

I started working there from September 1st. My job is simple, putting up stories that we get from our sources. A little editing, a lot of copy pasting. I am trying to get a foothold in my workspace and it is not easy.

But the thing which shocks me is my apathy. Why?

Turn on your news channel, you will find news of murderings, killings, bombings, trade negotiations, rapes and movies. There is a little mention of someone’s accomplishments, like someone winning a Padma Bhushan or a medal in sports. Except cricket, that sport is popular enough.

I read stories about rape, gang rape, killings and all kinds of violence. You will be surprised by the criminal activities happening. I show no reaction to the news. I just do my Job and put up those stories.

Yesterday I told myself to find out how many people died. I wanted to see what’s my limit.

I found out that from midnight to 1700 hrs IST, Exactly 110 humans died. A hundred and freaking ten people. And my estimate can be wrong too!

Untitled

The deceased were Afghan soldiers, Yemen victims, suicides, accident fatalities and at the risk of sounding frivolous other ill fated individuals. Just look at the list I made! I didn’t even write the news headings fully.

If that raises your eyebrows then you have some humanity left. Because I am insensible to the news, I went to have tea after that. I have read enough blogs about death but this is the first time words have not hit me, made me feel the pain associated with it.

Was I shaken? No.

Did I try to find out more about them? No.

I realized later last night at how screwed up I am. Yesterday at least a hundred families were affected, their lives changed drastically, the changes irrecoverable. And me? I am unfazed.

On the other hand, if the news would have been of animal cruelty or fatality I would have been enraged. Maybe I would be, I am no longer sure. But human fatality? No anger, only now do I begin to feel remorse and will try to sympathize more.

Humans are dying out there! Causes might be heart attacks, accidents or hellish terrorist attacks. Humans die agonizing deaths and I am earning money by their deaths.

If a person reading this has lost someone in some horrible event, go ahead spit the condemning words at me.I have earned them after three weeks.

Humans are dying now. I am sure humanity died long ago.

14 thoughts on “110 People Died Yesterday

  1. That was fantastic. I really really enjoyed this post. It’s so true. Most humans are numb to the deaths of other humans but if there’s a story of an animal being hurt people are foaming at the mouth with rage. When did human life lose its value? Is not human the most precious life on earth? I discovered your blog today after you liked one of my blog posts…. I’m now a fan of your work and look forward to reading more of your posts. -Joey

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

